ADVERTISEMENT

Calling on Softball Umpires

BamaTide44

All American
Gold Member
May 27, 2013
935
830
163
I've been coaching for 5 years now and it always seems a rule comes into play that is either in a grey area or umpires discretion. We play USFA, USGF, and USSSA rules. This questions are:

1. Can you have a donut in the on-deck circle?
2. Look back rule: I've been told numerous times that the look back rule is called differently based on the umpires interpretation. If that is the case shouldn't the call be based on intent?
3. Can obstruction be called at home plate?
4. If the pitcher is in the wind up and she hesitates but releases the ball (lets say a slow roller), is the runners allowed a base by rule?
 
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Go Big.
Get Premium.

Join Rivals to access this premium section.

  • Say your piece in exclusive fan communities.
  • Unlock Premium news from the largest network of experts.
  • Dominate with stats, athlete data, Rivals250 rankings, and more.
Log in or subscribe today Go Back